Get a head start on getting that driver’s license! While you may not be able to get a full license until you’re 16, Alaska will let you get a great head start on teaching you to drive by letting you get a learner’s permit as soon as you turn 14! One caveat: you have to pass a test! But fear not, young Alaskan, we have come up with a foolproof three-step plan that will make that test easier than square dancing with a cardboard box!
- Alaska Practice Permit Exam: Do you hate taking permit tests? So do we! Don’t fail the permit exam and have to take it over and over, just take our practice test formulated from the same data as the real thing, and ensure that you pass that Alaska drivers permit test the first time! It’s completely free and you can take it anywhere, as many times as you need!
- Alaska Drivers Manual: But where can I learn the laws I need to know to pass this Alaska learner’s permit test? Well, from the Alaska driver’s manual, of course! We’ve posted a copy of the same manual you can get from the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles, but in a convenient location for your studying purposes. Read the manual. Learn the manual. Become the manual.
- Alaska Road Signs: I know, Alaska has a lot of road signs, some of which you’ll never see anywhere else in the country, but if you take the time to learn these signs you’ll have a smoother time at both the exam and on the road!
- Alaska Permit Test Flash Cards: Use these flash cards as many times as you need to practice for your actual Alaska permit test. Remember – about half of individuals FAIL the real knowledge test the first time. So, make sure to study the full ALASKA Driver’s Manual before you go to take the real knowledge test.
- Alaska Permit Test Cheat Sheet: This cheat sheet will help you remember the important test questions and help you prepare for the Alaska permit test in simple easy way. You can either download or read the cheat sheet online.
Seriously, the Alaska learner’s permit test is actually incredibly easy, as long as you prepare. And we will gladly help you prepare.
Alaska Permit Test FAQs:
How do I get driver’s permit in Alaska?
To apply for a learner’s permit in Alaska, you must be a minimum of 14 years of age. To obtain the permit, all applicants must pass a vision test and a written exam. A driver must then hold the permit for at least 6 months driving while supervised in order to move on to a provisional license.
How do I prepare for the Alaska permit test?
It is a requirement of the DMV in Alaska that anyone applying for a permit must pass a written test that includes, safe driving techniques, motor vehicle laws and traffic laws. Studying for this exam is encouraged so that you can obtain your learner’s permit when you reach the required age. Practice exams, which include real sample questions from the actual DMV exam, are available online.
It may be required of you to wait until at least the next day to re-take the test, if you fail it. Some states also charge a fee to re-take the test.
I have recently moved to Alaska. How do I get the driver’s license?
If you hold a valid driver’s license from another state and become a new resident of Alaska, it is required that you surrender your out-of-state license or ID card and obtain an Alaska Driver’s License within 90 days of moving.
To obtain the Alaska Driver’s License, you must pass a vision test and a written exam. You must pass all required testing if your out-of-state license expired more than three years prior.
I am from the overseas. Do I have to apply for the Alaska driver’s license?
Persons visiting Alaska, who hold a valid foreign driver’s license and an international driving permit, may use the permit for 90 days, after which they must pass a written knowledge exam and vision test and obtain an Alaska Driver’s License.
What documentation do I require for Alaska driving permit?
Be sure you have all the needed paperwork to get your driver’s license before you go to the Alaska DMV Office.
What will happen after I pass the permit test?
When you have met all the requirements, you should receive your new:
- Provisional Driver’s License (16 to 18 years of age): This will expire 90 days after the applicant’s 21st birthday.
- Full Driver’s License (18 to 20 years of age): This will expire 90 days after the applicant’s 21st birthday.
- Full Driver’s License (21 and older): This is valid for 5 years.
Always remember—to safely operate a motor vehicle you need knowledge, skill, and an understanding that there are limitations imposed by the environment and other drivers.