New Driver’s Requirements
If you’re going to be driving as a California resident anytime soon, then you’re going to want to pay attention to the state’s newest driver’s requirements. The rules have changed, so pay close attention in order to easily obtain your license.
New California Drivers
New drivers must be at least 16 years of age to apply for a California Driver’s License at the DMV.
Additionally, if you are under the age of 18, you must:
- Provide proof that you have completed driver’s education and submit documentation that you have completed at least 6 hours of professional driver training.
- Have held a California instruction permit for at least six months.
- Obtain parent(s) or guardian(s) signature(s) on your instruction permit verifying that you have completed the 50 hours of supervised driving practice (10 of those hours must be driving at night)
- Pass the behind-the-wheel driving test within three chances. If you fail the behind-the-wheel driving test, you must pay a retest fee for a second or subsequent test and wait two weeks before you are tested again.
Already A Licensed Driver But New To California?
Have you recently relocated to the area? New residents with an out-of-state license must obtain a California driver’s license within 10 days of establishing a permanent residence in CA. That’s not a lot of time, so make sure to be prepared. Before heading to the DMV, make sure you have your license from your former state as you will be required to surrender it in order to obtain the new license.
You will not have to retake the road skills test to change a valid out-of-state license to a CA driver’s license, however you will need to pass both the written exam and vision test.
Warning: If your former driver’s license has expired, you may be required to apply for a California interim license and pass all required testing to receive a driver’s license.
Requirements for International Drivers
For our international relocating residents, California honors the International Driving Permit. It must be accompanied by a valid license from the resident country. Licensees have 10 days after becoming a resident of the State to convert to a California license. To obtain a CA license the international drive will be required to complete all the steps for a learners permit, including the written and driving portions of the driver’s exam.
Required Paperwork: Don’t leave home without it
Don’t make a wasted trip to the DMV, before leaving the house make sure you have all of the following required documents to get your driver’s license:
Preparing To Pass The Written Knowledge Test
The written knowledge test ensures that you have read and understand the rules of the road. The California DMV requires a passing exam grad on traffic signs, motor vehicle laws and safe driving techniques. Study hard, because if you fail the exam, some states require you to wait until at least the next day to take the test again and charge a re-examination fee.
You’re going to want to get your learners permit right away, so take time to prepare ahead of time and study the CA driving laws to you can get a passing score on day one! Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the DMV Exam – Take the California permit test now and test your driving knowledge.
You’ve passed the test! Now what?
Once your licensing requirements have been met, you will receive:
- Interim Driver’s License (16 to 18 years of age). OR
- Full Driver’s License (18 and older) valid for 5 years.
Remember: Getting behind the wheel of a car is a serious matter. Make sure you have the proper knowledge, experience and respect for the rules before trying to obtain your license. Your safety and the safety of others on the road depends on your vigilance.