Like every other state in the United States of America, Connecticut has a process you must follow before you can get a learner’s permit and begin the journey of learning how to drive. Everyone starts their life of driving a car with this process, even the winningest Senators had to start somewhere. And this process begins with you taking a written exam covering the laws you must follow whenever you get behind the wheel.
1) Connecticut Practice Permit Test: If you’re feeling at all nervous about the impending test, don’t worry! We have a practice test that you can practice on over and over until you’ve gotten the material for the real test engraved into your very soul. This test draws upon the same laws and rules that the real test does, so you can rest easy knowing that you’ve just studied for one of the most important tests you’ll ever take!
2) Connecticut Drivers Manual: You don’t have to jump right into the practice test feet first here, although if you want to you could. However, we offer the very manual that you need to study to know everything that you’ll be tested on. Study before you study!
3) Connecticut Road Signs: If there’s one thing in the manual and the practice test you need to know, it’s the road signs. Learn these, and the rest of the test will fall like a house of cards!
4) Connecticut Permit Test Flash Cards: Use these flash cards as many times as you need to practice for your actual Connecticut permit test. Remember – about half of individuals FAIL the real knowledge test the first time. So, make sure to study the full CONNECTICUT Driver’s Manual before you go to take the real knowledge test.
5) Connecticut Permit Test Cheat Sheet: This cheat sheet will help you remember the important test questions and help you prepare for the Connecticut permit test in simple easy way. You can either download or read the cheat sheet online.
Easy! These three steps will let you get all up in that test and wreck some stuff!
Connecticut Permit Test FAQs:
How do I get driver’s permit in Connecticut?
If you have never had a license before, you must apply for a Connecticut learner’s permit. To do this you must pass a written exam on safe driving techniques, motor vehicle laws and traffic signs. When you get your valid learner’s permit, you must show proof of completion of at least 40 hours of behind-the-wheel practice supervised by a driving school instructor, parent or legal guardian. Then, to get your Connecticut driver’s license, you will need to pass a vision test, a road skills test, and a second knowledge test.
Regardless of age, if you have not held a previous license in Connecticut, you must, by law, take an 8 hour Safe Driving Practices course at a Connecticut Commercial Driving School in order to obtain a license.
Parents or legal guardians of teens who get their learner’s permit after August1, 2008, are required to complete, with their teen, two hours of instruction regarding the dangers of teen driving and the laws governing drivers who are under 18 years of age. These courses may be offered by a secondary or commercial driving school. The course will be included in the eight hour program 16 and 17-year-olds are already required to complete.
How do I prepare for the Connecticut permit test?
It is a requirement of the DMV in Connecticut that all applicants must complete and pass a written exam on safe driving techniques, motor vehicle laws and traffic signs. Studying for this exam is encouraged so that you can obtain your learner’s permit when you reach the required age. Test your driving knowledge by taking the Connecticut practice test now. Online practice tests are available that provide real sample questions from the exam. It may be required of you to wait until at least the next day to re-take the test if you fail it. Some states also charge a fee to re-take the test.
I have recently moved to Connecticut. How do I get the driver’s license?
When you move to Connecticut, you must obtain a Connecticut driver’s license within 30 days. You will be required to surrender your out-of-state license to get the new one, so be sure to bring it with you when you go to the DMV.
The out-of-state license may not be expired for more than 2 years. Before a Connecticut license is issued, the operator must pass undergo a vision test. Road and knowledge tests may be waived at the Agent’s discretion.
Applicants who are 16 or 17 years old, and possesses an out-of-state driver’s license, must attend driver education class and pass a road test. You will be required to take skills, knowledge and visions tests as well as take an 8 hour safe driving practices course at a DMV office, if the out-of-state license has been expired for more than two years.
I am from the overseas. Do I have to apply for the Connecticut driver’s license?
You may drive a motor vehicle in Connecticut for a period of one year if you are a visitor and have a visitor’s visa, an International Driver’s Permit, and a valid license from your country of residence. You will have 30 days to get your Connecticut license if you plan to become resident.
What documentation do I require for CT driving permit?
To get your driver’s license, you will need to present the following documents at the DMV Office:
- Your valid Learner’s Permit
- License Fee
- CS-1 Driver Education Certificate offering proof of completion of driver training.
- A vehicle that can be used for the Road Test
- A valid registration and proof of insurance for your test vehicle. The proof of insurance must be in the name of the registered owner of the vehicle. (If the vehicle is leased, proof of insurance may be in the name of the lessee).
- Completed Application for Driver License (Form R-229) which can be obtained at the DMV branch office or requested from the website. The Application for Driver’s License (Form R-229) must be signed by your qualified trainer certifying that all driver education/practical requirements have been completed.
What will happen after I pass the permit test?
You will receive the following once your licensing requirements have been met:
- Restricted Driver’s License (16 and 4 months to 18 years of age) valid for 6 years.
- Full Driver’s License (18 to 65 years of age) valid for 6 years.
- Full Driver’s License (65 years of age and older) valid for 2 years.
Always remember—to safely operate a motor vehicle you need knowledge, skill, and an understanding that there are limitations imposed by the environment and other drivers.