What are the three stages of Alaska’s Graduated Driver Licensing program for aspiring drivers under 18 years of age?

Correct answer

  • Instruction permit, driver's license, provisional license
  • Instruction permit, provisional license, driver's license
  • Provisional license, driver's license, instruction permit


Each US state has a three-stage graduated driver licensing program, which enables a young driver to gain driving experience gradually under restrictions that are eased over time. Under Alaska's graduated driver licensing program, every driver under the age of 18 must first obtain a instruction permit to practice supervised driving. After the young driver has turned 16, held an instruction permit for at least six months, and practiced supervised driving for at least 40 hours, he or she may apply for a provisional driver's license, which allows the driver to drive unsupervised under certain restrictions. After six months or when he or she turns 18, these restrictions will be removed and the driver may obtain an unrestricted Alaska driver's license.

Prepare and pass your Permit Test

Search all Question & Answers

Related questions

Select your state