menu

Let’s get ready for your North Carolina DMV Permit Test

This North Carolina DMV practice exam has been updated for 2024 and includes 40 questions from the official NC Driver Handbook. To drive in North Carolina, you must pass the NC DMV exam. In other words, the DMV permit exam is also known as the driving test. The North Carolina learner’s permit knowledge exam has 25 questions, and you must properly answer 20 of them to pass. Our free NC DMV practice tests are meant to help you prepare for the official exam. And remember: practice makes perfect. Good luck!

Kenly Public Library In collaboration with Kenly Public Library

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start

Collapse all
What is the age requirement to obtain a North Carolina driver’s license?
To get a North Carolina driver's license, you must be at least 18 years old. A NC Limited Learner Permit or Provisional License may only be obtained by those who are at least 15 years old.
Who needs a North Carolina driver’s license?
Anyone in North Carolina who drives a car on public roads or highways must have a driver's license.
Do I need to pass any test to obtain a North Carolina driver’s license or permit?
Yes. Vision, knowledge, traffic signs, and road testing are all requirements.
Can I wear my contact lenses or corrective glasses during the vision test?
Yes. Your driver's license will mention that you must wear your corrective glasses at all times when driving.
Collapse all
I am younger than 18 years of age, can I apply for a NC driver’s license?
You may apply for a Limited Learner Permit or a Provisional License under the Graduated Licensing Program if you are at least 15 years old but not yet 18.
I am under 18 years old, can I sign my application?
There is aneed for permission from a parent or legal guardian.
Who can apply for a Limited Learner Permit?
At least 15-year-olds who finished an authorized driver education course and have a valid Driving Eligibility Certificate are eligible to drive in the state.
What do I have to do to apply for my Learner Permit?
15-year-old or older age requirement
Accomplished the 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of driving practice.
Examine the textual and visual components of the exam.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my North Carolina Limited Learner Permit?
Driving is only permitted between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m., Monday through Friday, during the first six months of your license.
After the first six months, provided you are accompanied by your supervising driver, you may drive whenever you choose.
Who can be my supervising driver?
Whoever the parent/guardian deems fit to be in charge of their child.
I have successfully held my Limited Learner Permit for 12 months. What’s next?
Limited Provisional Licenses are available after 12 months of service.
What do I have to do to apply for a Limited Provisional License?
You must be at least 16 years old in order to participate. In addition, you must have completed at least 60 hours of supervised driving and have no motor vehicle movement offenses on your record.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my North Carolina Limited Provisional License?
Only between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. may you drive alone;
Only one person under the age of 21 may be in the automobile at a time if the supervising driver is not there.
The use of a cell phone is prohibited.
How can I apply for a Full provisional License?
For a minimum of six months, keep your Limited Provisional License in effect
Assure at least 12 hours of supervised operation and six hours of nocturnal operation;
Avoid getting a ticket for a moving infraction of any kind.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my North Carolina Full Provisional License?
You cannot use a mobile phone if you are under the age of 18.
Collapse all
How can I make an appointment for my NC knowledge test?
Obtain a driver's license from your local DMV office. At https://www.ncdot.gov/dmv/, you can locate your local office.
How many questions are on the North Carolina DMV permit test?
There are 25 questions in the exam of knowledge.
What is the score required to pass the test?
To pass the exam, you must properly answer at least 20 of the questions (80%).
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
The exam may be retaken whenever you're ready. Before retaking the exam, familiarize yourself with the NC Driver's Handbook.
Collapse all
What is the driving test about?
You must show your ability to drive in a manner that is safe for you and other road users.
What will I be required to do during my driving test?
traffic lights, stop signs, junctions, and so on
back;
halt abruptly;
the stop, start, and parking;
using the clutch;
utilize the horn and turn signals;
turn;
utilize the lanes whenever possible;
keep up with other cars;
pass the buck;
heed the traffic signal and move over;
keep a proper driving stance in tact.

I failed my driving test. What’s next?
This exam may only be retaken after a minimum of five business days have passed.

Select your state

list
close