Let’s get ready for your California DMV Permit Test

This Colorado DMV practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 CO Driver Handbook. This exam consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. To qualify for your instruction permit, you must properly answer at least 20 of the 25 questions. If you are under the age of 18, you must have a completed parental permission form. Those aged 15 to 15 12 must also provide documentation of completing a 30-hour driving education course before applying for a driver education permit. Between the ages of 15 and 16, you may get a minor instruction permit by completing a 30-hour driving education course or a 4-hour driver awareness course. You must also pass a vision test and pay a permit cost of $16.80, or $11.15 if you need to repeat the written examination. Each multiple-choice question offers four options, one of which is accurate. We’ve added the Hint section for practice. Use it just when you’re stumped. There will be no such clues on the actual Colorado DMV test. When you make a mistake, we show you the correct answer and explain the ideas briefly to help you remember them. We’ll mix up the questions so no two practice exams are alike.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who is required to have a Colorado driver’s license?
Those who drive or ride a motorbike on public roads and highways in the state of Colorado.
What is the age requirement to apply for a Colorado driver’s license?
You must be 16 years of age or older to get a Colorado driver's license. To get a Colorado driver's education permit, you must be at least 15 years old.
Who cannot be issued a Colorado driver’s license?
Anyone who fails to present the department with proof of their identity or proof of date of birth;
Failed driver's license applicants are subject to dismissal.
any non-returner of their out-of-state driving license
Driving privileges have been revoked/suspended/denied to anybody
An alcoholic or drug addict who has a history of mental illness
Uninsured or underinsured emancipated minors
Anyone who owes traffic fines or court judgments
Do I need to demonstrate lawful presence in the U.S. in order to apply for a Colorado driver’s license?
Yes. You must provide proof of your identity, including proof of your date of birth, complete legal name, and legal status in the United States, whether permanent or temporary.
Can undocumented immigrants apply for a Colorado driver's license?
Unauthorized immigrants in Colorado are able to get a driver's license if they submit the necessary papers. Applicants are required to provide proof of their identification, such as an international birth certificate or passport, an international driver's license with an image of the applicant or a consular card showing proof of continuous resident in the state, and proof of their citizenship.
Which examinations are required in order to obtain a Colorado driver’s license?
All of the following: physical, visual, writing and/or driving.
Collapse all
How many questions are on the Colorado DMV practice test?
There are 25 questions on the Colorado knowledge exam, which you must answer correctly.
What score is required to pass the test?
At least 20 questions must be answered properly (80 percent ). What can I do to prepare for the knowledge exam in Colorado? What you'll find in the official "Colorado Driver Handbook" is what you'll find on the Colorado permit exam.
How do I know when I am ready to take the practice test?
When you can answer at least 20 questions on each practice permit exam on our website correctly, you are ready to take your written test. You should know everything in the driver's handbook.
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
A new exam will be available the following day.
Collapse all
I am a Colorado resident, but I am employed in another state and I have an out-of-state driver license. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?
No, if you have a valid out-of-state driver's license and your state of employment needs a driver's license in order to operate in a normal trade or profession.
I am a (foreign) member of the Armed Forces serving on active duty in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?
You and your family members are not excluded from the exception.
I am a non-resident student in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?
No, if you're studying in Colorado for a short time and have a valid out-of-state driver's license, you're not eligible.
I am a foreign tourist/instructor/business person in Colorado. Do I need a Colorado driver’s license?
There is no restriction on driving a private (non-commercial) car with a valid out-of-state or out-of-country driver's license.
I am a new resident, 16 years of age or older and I have a valid out-of-state driver’s license. Do I have to take the written or driving test in order to get a Colorado driver’s license?
Do not expect to be asked to take these exams.
I am a new resident and I have an out-of-state driver’s license. Do I have to surrender this license in order to obtain a Colorado driver’s license?
Yes.
I have a Colorado driver’s license (issued for 5 years) / a Colorado instruction permit (issued for 3 years) and I want to renew it. What do I have to do?
Your old license/permit, a vision exam, and the requisite cost must be presented before you can get your new one. You'll also be fingerprinted and photographed.
My Colorado driver’s license or permit is lost/stolen/mutilated. What do I have to do?
In order to renew your driver's license, you must go in person to any driver's license office and provide proper identification as well as pay the usual renewal price.
I have a valid Colorado driver license but I changed name and/or address. What do I have to do?
The MVD must be notified 30 days in advance through written notification.
Collapse all
Driver Education Permit
It is necessary to be 15 years old, or 15 years old and a half. Duration of use: three years. There are two documents needed to apply for a learner's permit: a certificate of liability and guardianship and an affidavit of passing a classroom-based driver's education course within six months of the application. Driving with anybody other than a driving education teacher or the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability is prohibited. Only the person who signed the Affidavit is allowed to drive you after the age of 15 years and 6 months. When you attain the age of 18, the limitation is immediately abolished.
Driver Awareness Permit
Applicants must be between the ages of 15 and 16 at the time of application. Duration of use: three years. Acknowledgment of liability and guardianship as well as evidence that the driver has completed an authorized driver awareness training are among the documents that must be submitted. No one else may drive with you unless they are also a signatory to the Affidavit of Liability. When you attain the age of eighteen, the limitation is immediately abolished.
Minor Instruction Permit
Applicants must be between the ages of 16 and 21. Duration of use: three years. Affidavits of Liability and Guardianship are required for minors under the age of 18. Only the person who signed the Affidavit of Liability may drive with you. When you attain the age of 18, the limitation is immediately abolished.
Minor Driver’s License
Applicants must be between the ages of 16 and 21. Validity: expires 20 days after the recipient turns 21. Instruction permit and Drive Time Log sheet are required for drivers under the age of 18 (and at least 16 years old). Even though minors over the age of 18 are exempt from having an instruction permit, they must buy one before passing their driving test.
Adult Instruction Permit
Applicants must be at least 21 years old to apply. Duration of use: three years. An instruction permission is required for adults before they may take the exam.
Adult License
Applicants must be at least 21 years old to apply. Validity: expires five years after issuing on the recipient's fifth birthday.

Select your state