menu

Let’s get ready for your Georgia DDS Permit Test

This Georgia DDS practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 GA Driver Handbook. To get your Georgia learner’s permit or driver’s license, you must pass the 40-question knowledge exam (commonly known as the permit test). To pass your knowledge test, you must properly answer 75% of the questions in each part – traffic regulations and road signs. The 2022 Georgia Drivers Manual has all the knowledge you need to pass the exam. The traffic signs exam is only accessible in English, but the road regulations test is available in other languages. You must start your permit exam 30 minutes or more before the service center closes in order to finish the test and get your permit or license if you pass. A learner’s permit costs $10 and is good for two years. Permission from your parents is required if you are under 18. A normal license costs $32 and is good for eight years. This Georgia DDS practice test features 40 multiple-choice questions with a 75% passing rate.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DDS exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
What is the age requirement to obtain a Georgia driver’s license?
Learner permits may only be issued to those who are at least 15 years old. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a driver's license.
Who needs a Georgia driver’s license?
All Georgians who intend to operate a motor vehicle on the state's highways are required to have a driver's license. New residents of Georgia are required to get a driver's license within 30 days after migrating to the state.
Who is considered a resident of Georgia?
You are considered a Georgia resident if you:
moving to Georgia and establishing a home there
are currently employed In Georgia
have your children enrolled in a Georgia school
have been present in the state for a minimum of thirty days
Do I have to pass a vision test in order to apply for a Georgia driver’s license?
Yes. The acceptable minimum vision is 20/60 in one eye, with or without corrective lenses, and a field of vision of at least 140 degrees.
Are there any health requirements?
A test of your driving skills will be required before getting behind the wheel.
What documents are required in order to apply for a Georgia driver’s license?
proof of one's identity
proof of legal residence in the United States / proof of US citizenship
residence proof in the state of Georgia
An individual's SSN (social security number) (no original card required)

English must be the language of all written material. The website www.dds.ga.gov maintains an up-to-date list of all documents that have been accepted by the DDS.
Collapse all
How many questions are on the Georgia DDS knowledge exam?
Both the Road Signs Test and the Road Rules Test are part of the exam. There are a total of 20 questions on each test.
What is the score required to pass the tests?
All exams need a minimum of 15 correct answers.
How can I prepare for the Georgia knowledge exam?
You may find the Georgia Driver's Manual and the Georgia online written tests on this page, as well as a practice test, at https://www.ga.gov/dds/docs/forms/fulldriversmanual.pdf.
Where do I take my knowledge exam?
DDS customer service is available at every site in the state. The website www.dds.ga.gov has a comprehensive list of DDS offices.
I failed my knowledge exam. What do I have to do?
For the first time, if you fail any part of the knowledge test, you must repeat it the following day. Wait seven days before taking the test again after a second failure.
Collapse all
I am 15 years of age, can I apply for a Georgia driver’s license?
Instructional Permit Class CP is available.
What do I need to do in order to obtain a CP Instructional Permit?
demonstrate compliance with school attendance and conduct policies;
give proof of your identification, citizenship or legal status in the United States, and your place of abode in Georgia;
Be sure to include your Social Security number
pass a vision screening
pass the road sign and traffic law exams
pay for a permit
Do I have any restrictions with my CP Instructional Permit?
Yes. If you want to drive, you must have a licensed driver with you who is at least 21 years old.
How long is my CP Instructional Permit valid?
It will be valid for the next two years.
I am 16 years old, can I apply for a Georgia driver’s license?
You may apply for a Class D Provisional License after one year and one day of possessing an Instructional Permit.
What do I need to do in order to obtain a Class D Provisional License?
Return CP Instructional Permit for Class;
demonstrate compliance with school attendance and conduct policies;
proof of ADAP (Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program) completion;
Take and pass a DDS-approved driving school.
At least 40 hours of supervised driving (at least six of which must be at night) must be completed; at least six of those hours must be at night.
being able to drive safely in general
Do I have any restrictions with my CP Instructional Permit?
Yes. Between the hours of 12:00 a.m. and 6:00 a.m., you are not allowed to drive. Only close family members may use the car for the first six months after it is issued. One non-family person under the age of 21 may ride in the car during the second half of the six-month period. Three passengers under the age of 21 who are not related to the driver may travel in the car after one year.
I am under 18, can I sign my application for an Instructional Permit or a Provisional License?
Not until a parent or legal guardian signs the form. It is possible for him/her to cancel your permission at any time until you reach 18.
I turned 18. Can I apply for a Class C License?
A valid Class D license is required for 1 year and 1 day without any severe traffic offenses prior to your application. The first time you apply for a driver's license, you must pass the Knowledge and Road examinations as well as complete 40 hours of supervised driving, if you are at least 18 years old (including 6 hours of night driving).
Collapse all
How can I schedule an appointment for my road test?
Call the DDS up to 90 days in advance if you have a permit that allows you this option. Visit www.dds.ga.gov for further information, including how to reach them.
Do I have to provide the vehicle for my road test?
Yes. Valid registration/license plates are required, as well as proof of liability insurance.
Can I take the test in a rental vehicle?
Yes. When renting a car, you need to provide evidence of insurance, a copy of the rental agreement, and name yourself as the driver.
Can I borrow a vehicle from the DDS office?
Unfortunately, no.
What am I expected to do on the driving test?
Parking in the Same Direction
Stops in a Hurry
Backing
Always Pay Attention to Signs and Signals
Turn the Page
Crankshaft Clutch
Ahead of the Curve
Taking into consideration the other driver's needs
Turning
Passing
Following
Maintaining a Straight Posture

Select your state

list
close