menu

Let’s get ready for your New Jersey MVC Permit Test

This NJ MVC practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 50 questions from the official NJ Driver Handbook. New Jersey implemented a graduate license program in 2001 to improve driving safety. No of your age, you must first get limited permission before applying for a full license. You can receive a special learner permit if you’re 16-17 and pass the MVC written exam. Anyone over 17 may avoid driving school but must still pass a written knowledge test. The knowledge exam will include 50 multiple-choice answers. To pass and acquire your permit, you must score at least 80%. After passing the written test and receiving your permit, you must display two decals on your vehicle: one on each front and rear license plate. The test is free, but the permit and decals are $10 each.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

240 questions

Complete: 0/240

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 6

Questions: 201-240

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

120 questions

Complete: 0/120

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a MVC exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
What is the age requirement to obtain a New Jersey driver license?
To get a New Jersey driver's license, you must be at least 21 years old. After completing the GDL Program, you may get a basic driver's license if you're at least 16. (Graduated Driver License).
Who needs a New Jersey driver license?
Anyone who drives a car in New Jersey is required to have a driver's license.
What documents are required to apply for a NJ driver license or learner permit?
Documentation of Your Residence or Business Address
A main and a secondary document are required.
The Social Security Number.
Six Steps to Verify Your Identity
Proof of legal status in the United States
Can undocumented immigrants apply for a New Jersey driver's license?
Unauthorized immigrants in New Jersey are able to get a driver's license if they submit the necessary papers. In order to get a job in New Jersey, a candidate must provide proof of their identity, age, and domicile.
Do I have to pass a test to obtain my New Jersey driver license?
Passing knowledge, eyesight, and road exams are all a part of the application process.
Collapse all
I am under 18 years of age. Can I sign my application for a NJ Permit or Probationary License?
In order to apply, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign the application on your behalf.
Do I have any obligation while driving with my Permit or my Probationary License?
You must have two GDL decals on your license plates if you are under the age of 21.
I am under 21 years of age, what are the steps to obtain a NJ Basic Driver License?
Three alternatives are available. 'The Early Bird Road' is the first.
Be at least sixteen years old;
Enroll in a driving school allowed by the state;
Acquire understanding and vision of the MVC framework
You will be issued a Special Learner Permit after you have completed the training.
Drive for six months in a row under the supervision of a licensed driver
Get a passing score on the MVC driving exam;
Your Probationary License will be issued to you if you are 17 years old or older.
Learn to drive on your own for at least a year;
Visit an MVC office to get a Basic Driver License if you are above the age of eighteen.
The "Young Adult Road" is the second option:
Make sure you're at least 17.
You must pass both the knowledge and vision examinations in order to graduate
Your Exam Permit will be delivered to you.
For at least six months, practice supervised driving under the watchful eye of a licensed driver;
Pass the MVC Road Test
You'll be issued a Probationary License at this time.
Follow all traffic laws and regulations for at least one year before you attempt to drive unaccompanied again.
Visit an MVC office to get a Basic Driver License if you are above the age of eighteen.
'The Adult Road,' as the name implies, is the last and final alternative.
Be above the age of 21;
You must pass both the knowledge and vision examinations in order to graduate
a minimum of three months of supervised driving while adhering to all of your limitations;
You'll be issued a Probationary License at this time.
At least one year of unsupervised driving and adherence to traffic laws are required.
To get a Basic Driver's License, go to an MVC office.
What restrictions do I have to observe while driving with my NJ Special Learner Permit?
During the hours of 11pm and 5am, you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle.
The usage of any technological gadget is strictly prohibited.
Without a licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, has at least three years of driving experience, and is seated alongside you, you are not permitted to drive.
Only one other passenger and your parent/guardian/dependent are permitted to travel together with you.
What restrictions do I have to observe while driving with my NJ Examination Permit?
During the hours of 11pm and 5am, no one is permitted to drive;
You are not permitted to make use of any electronic equipment.
Without a licensed driver of at least 21 years old, who has at least three years of driving experience and is seated next to you, you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle
A parent or guardian must be in the vehicle with you at all times if you have more than two dependents.
What restrictions do I have to observe while driving with my NJ Probationary License?
During the hours of 11pm and 5am, you are not permitted to operate a motor vehicle.
You are not permitted to make use of any electronic equipment.
Unless accompanied by a parent or guardian, you are only allowed to transport dependents and one more passenger in the automobile.
Collapse all
How many questions are on the NJ MVC knowledge test?
There are 50 questions on the New Jersey knowledge exam.
What is the score required to pass the test?
A minimum of 40 questions must be answered properly.
Can I take the test in a language other than English?
Yes. New Jersey's Motor Vehicle Commission's written exam is accessible in a variety of languages.
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
You get unlimited opportunities to retake the exam as many times as you need.
Collapse all
What will be tested during my road test?
Driving backward;
Keeping up with the traffic;
Corners and intersections are approaching.
Parking in the same lane as the vehicle in front of you
Sitting up straight;
Vehicle start-up
maintaining good control of the steering wheel
ignoring traffic signals;
Turning back and forth;
Giving up your right of way.
I failed my road test. When can I repeat it?
At the very least, you must wait two weeks.
Collapse all
I hold a valid New Jersey driver license and I changed my name. What do I have to do?
Within two weeks, you must inform the MVC of your intention to file a complaint.
I hold a valid New Jersey driver license and I changed my address. What do I have to do?
In order to alert the MVC, you must do so within one week.
I have a valid out-of-state driver license and I moved to New Jersey. Do I have to obtain a New Jersey driver license?
Yes. You must apply for a New Jersey driver's license within 60 days after arriving in New Jersey. You'll also have to give up your previous driver's license.

Select your state

list
close