Let’s get ready for your Nebraska DMV Permit Test

This Nebraska DMV practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 NE Driver Handbook. The Nebraska written knowledge exam consists of 25 multiple-choice questions. To pass, you must get 20 out of 25 questions right. Applicants for a permit who have not completed an authorized driving safety course must take a written exam. The written exam will include traffic signs, speed restrictions, and seatbelt rules. Nebraska offers numerous permits, beginning with a School Learner’s Permit and School Permit for those over 14 who reside in towns under 5,000 people and need to drive themselves to school. The Learner’s Permit enables those 15 and older to practice driving with an adult, while the Provisional Operator’s License allows those 16 and older to drive unsupervised between 6 a.m. and midnight. Bring your ID, two proofs of address, your social security number, parental consent if you are under the age of 18, the $10.50 School Permit or Learner’s Permit fee, or $17.50 Provisional Operator’s Permit fee, and a licensed driver over the age of 21 to accompany you to the DMV to take your written test. Examine your knowledge with this DMV practice test.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who is required to obtain a Nebraska driver's license?
Anyone who uses the state's roads and highways for personal transportation.
What is the minimum age required to apply for a Nebraska driver's license?
The legal age of consent in the United States is 18 years old.
I moved to Nebraska and I have a valid out-of-state driver's license. Do I need a Nebraska driver's license?
Yes, you can get a Nebraska driver's license in 30 days.
I changed my address/name. Should I update my license?
Yes, you must notify the Nebraska Driver Licensing Office within 60 days of any address or name change.
What is the Nebraska Parent's Supervised Driving Program?
All teens under the age of 16 who are seeking for a learner's permit are provided access to the program, which gives parents and guardians with a step-by-step approach to teaching driving.
Which documents are required to apply for a driver's license or permit in Nebraska?
Identity verification;
Proof of legal status in the United States;
Date of birth and name;
The Social Security Number
2 pieces of documentation establishing your primary residence in Nebraska.
Collapse all
What is a School Learner's Permit (LPE)?
Nebraska students may lawfully practice driving for a School Permission with this permit.
What are the requirements to obtain a School Learner's Permit?
At least 14 years old;
Vision and writing examinations must be passed in order to proceed.
A licensed driver must be in the passenger seat at all times.
How long is the School Learner's Permit valid for?
Three (3) months.
What is a School Permit (SCP)?
Students in Nebraska who live more than 1.5 miles from their school are eligible for this permission.
Which restrictions apply with a School Permit?
A student who has a valid School Permit is able to do the following things
To and from school, use the most direct path; no supervision is required.
For school-related reasons, transport any family member or individual who lives with you.
If you are at least 21 years old and accompanied by a qualified driver, you may drive at any time.
What are the requirements to obtain a School Permit?
Be between the ages of 14 and 2 months.
For at least two months, keep the LPE in place;
Be at least 21 years old and have a parent/guardian/licensed driver at least 21 years old sign a 50-hour certification form.
Do I have to take any test to obtain a School Permit?
A DMV-approved driving safety course negates the need for a permit. You must pass a visual and written exam if you have a 50-hour certification. The DMV will waive your written exam if you have a valid LPE or SCP, even if it has been expired for less than a year.
What is a Learner's Permit (LPD)?
A driver's license is required to legally practice driving in Nebraska.
What are the requirements to obtain a Learner's Permit?
a minimum age of 15 years is required
Examine one's eyesight and writing skills (unless you hold a valid LPE or SCP, or one that has expired for no more than 1 year).
How can I practice driving with my Nebraska Learner's Permit?
Unless you are at least 21 years old, you are not allowed to drive unless you are accompanied by a licensed driver.
How long is my NE Learner's Permit valid for?
One (1) year.
What is a Nebraska Provisional Operator's Permit (POP)?
Between the hours of 6 a.m. and 12 p.m., you may lawfully drive without a passenger in your car. If you are accompanied by a parent, legal guardian, or licensed driver who is at least 21 years old, you may drive at any time.
How can I obtain a Provisional Operator's Permit?
To participate, you must be at least 16 years old
At least six months of possession of an LPE, SCP, or LPD
Avoid getting 3 or more points on your license in the six months before to applying;
A DMV-approved driving safety course or a 50-hour certification document signed by a parent/legal guardian/a licensed driver over the age of 21 are both acceptable substitutes for the DMV-required course.
Do I have to take any test to obtain a Provisional Operator's Permit?
A DMV-approved driving safety course negates the need for a permit. You must pass a visual and written exam if you have a 50-hour certification (unless you hold a valid LPE or SCP, or one that has been expired for no more than 1 year).
Which restrictions apply with a Provisional Operator's Permit?
Only one non-family person under the age of 19 may ride in your vehicle for the first six months.
How long is my Provisional Operator's Permit in Nebraska valid for?
Until you're 18 years old
How can I upgrade from my POP to an Operator's License?
Your POP should be kept up for at least a year
Make sure you're at least 17.
Maintain a driving record with no more than three points.
You have the option of waiting till the age of eighteen to twenty-one. There are no written or driving examinations in any situation.
How can I obtain an Operator's License if I have never held a POP?
Minimum age of eighteen
Examine your eyesight, writing, and driving skills.
Collapse all
How can I prepare for the Nebraska written test?
Learn how to drive in Nebraska by reading the official handbook.
Try out the AAA Sample Exam at https://www.dmv.nebraska.gov/.
How is the Nebraska DMV written test structured?
There are a total of 25 questions in this exam. It takes a score of 20/25 to pass.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my driving test?
In order to get a driver's license, it is required that you provide a car that is consistent with your application.
Which maneuvers will I have to perform during my Nebraska driving test?
starting and halting
turning to the right and to the left;
Properly using lanes;
obeying traffic signs and signals, such as stop signs;
Keeping a steady pace;
Invoking the right of way;
Detecting and reacting to a potential danger;
Parking;
Backing.
I failed one of my tests. When can I retake it?
It was the next day. Before retaking the exam, you should spend some time studying and practicing.

Select your state