Who is required to hold a Rhode Island driver's license?
Whoever resides in the state of Rhode Island and intends to use public roads and highways.
What is the age requirement to apply for a Rhode Island driver's license?
You must be at least eighteen years of age in order to use this service.
Can I drive a motor vehicle in Rhode Island if I am younger than 18?
Yes, under the graded licensing system, anyone under the age of eighteen may get their driver's license in three stages.
Permission to teach on a limited basis;
a short-term, non-exclusive, temporary license
A full operator's license
How can I obtain my Rhode Island limited instructional permit?
As a teenager, you are between the ages of 16 and 18.
Pass a 33-hour classroom driver's education course certified by the state;
Pass the DMV's digital permit exam.
For those above the age of 18, the classroom course isn't required, but you must take the computerized examination.
How do I enroll in a Rhode Island driver education class?
Get in touch with the CCRI (Community College of Rhode Island).
When can I apply for a RI driver education class?
When you're between the ages of 15 and 18. There is a 15-years-and-10-months-old minimum age requirement for this class.
What is the computerized permit test in Rhode Island about?
Traffic laws and regulations.
How many questions are there on the RI permit test?
A total of 50 questions are asked.
How can I pass the Rhode Island computerized permit test?
Take at least 40 questions to pass the exam. You'll know right away whether you've passed or failed the exam since it's automated.
How can I prepare for the Rhode Island written test?
The Rhode Island Driver's Handbook should be studied.
Which documents are required to apply for a limited instructional permit?
Certified baptismal certificate; passport; RI identity card; RI birth certificate; and/or resident alien identification card.
33-hour driver's education certificate;
Card for Social Security Number;
a document proving your residence in the state of Rhode Island;
Form of application
A parent, legal guardian, licensed foster parent, or adult spouse's signature is required.
Who can be my supervising driver?
One who has had a valid driver's license for at least five years and has reached the age of 21
Which restrictions apply when I practice driving with my limited instructional permit?
Only your supervising driver, who must sit in the passenger seat next to you in the vehicle, may let you practice driving.
How long do I have to hold my limited instruction permit?
Six months at the very least.
How long is my limited instruction permit valid for?
One year. Retaking the computerized exam or re-certification by CCRI is required if your permit expires before you pass the driving test You can get a complete operator's license if you turn 18 before you've had your permit for a year.
How can I upgrade to a limited provisional license?
Hold on to your restricted instruction permit for at least six months;
Motor vehicle movement violations and safety belt violations are not permitted during the last six months.
Pass the road exam; get your driver's license.
a minimum of fifty hours of practice behind the wheel under the supervision of an experienced driver (including 10 at night).
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my driving test in Rhode Island?
Yes. There must be proof of insurance and registration, and the driver must be present. The examiner will look it over.
Do I have to make an appointment for my driving test?
Yes. Don't forget to book the exam before your instructional permission expires.
What is evaluated in the RI driving test?
Procedures to follow before driving;
I'm stuck in traffic.
Using the correct arcs.
Which actions will make me automatically fail my driving exam?
It is illegal to drive on the sidewalk.
I'm getting off the divided highway;
veering from the beaten path;
Driving in a designated safe area;
A breach of any kind;
Examiner's unwillingness to work with student
I passed my driving test. What's next?
Go to the DMV and apply for a restricted provisional driving permit.
I failed my driving test. When can I retake it?
Before retaking an exam, you must wait 30 days.
What if my limited instructional permit expires before an appointment is available for my driving test?
You may have to retake the written exam and apply for a new permit if your current one expires.
Which restrictions apply to a RI limited provisional license?
If you have a supervising driver in the vehicle, you may drive at any time.
Only from 5 a.m. to 1 a.m. may you drive alone;
To and from work or voluntary activities, you may drive without supervision. –
Only one passenger under the age of 21 is permitted in the car for the first year (except immediate family members and household members)
How long is my limited provisional license valid for?
Until the age of eighteen
How can I obtain my full operator's license?
Make sure you're at least 17.
At the very least, you should keep your restricted temporary license for a year.
For the last six months, you must not have been convicted of a moving infraction.