menu

Let’s get ready for your Missouri DOR Permit Test

This Missouri DOR practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 MO Driver Handbook. Missouri requires a written exam, eye test, road sign test, and proof of age. The charge is $3.50. The instruction permit is thereafter valid for a year. The written exam comprises 25 multiple-choice questions, and you must get 20 accurate to pass and acquire your permit. Before you may get an intermediate license, which allows you to drive unsupervised and is valid until the age of 18, you must hold your instruction permit for at least six months and complete at least 40 hours of driving instruction. The written exam is administered by the Missouri State Highway Patrol; you may see a list of their locations here. This practice test will help you prepare for the written and road sign examinations by covering content from the 2022 Missouri Driver Guide.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DOR exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who is required to have a Missouri driver license?
Those who drive on public roads in the state are subject to the law.
Who is exempt from holding a Missouri driver license?
Members of the armed services who have a valid driver's license from another state
Driver's licenses issued outside of the state of residence of the student
Those people who use a farm tractor for agricultural reasons on a roadway.
Where can I apply for a Missouri driver license?
There is a licensing office in every Missouri county.
How can I obtain a driver license in Missouri?
Make sure your name, birthdate, and location are correct.
Your Social Security Number (SSN) is required.
Please include your home address in Missouri.
Take and pass the four-part driver's test.
When can I apply for a MO driver license?
At the age of eighteen. Graduated Driver Licenses in Missouri are available to those ages 15 through 21.
Collapse all
How is the GLD program in Missouri structured?
If you're a first-time driver, there are three stages you must do before you can get your license:
permission to teach;
an intermediate license
Full driver's license for those under the age of 21.
When can I apply for a Missouri instruction permit?
You must be at least 15 years of age to participate in this activity.
How can I obtain an instruction permit?
Pass the eyesight, road signs, and writing exams; Pass the test;
A parent, legal guardian, or qualified trainer must sign a consent statement at the licensing office.
How can I practice driving with my instruction permit?
If you're under the age of 16, you're only allowed to drive if you're accompanied by one of the following:
a someone who serves as a child's biological or stepparent or as their legal guardian
driving teacher with a valid license:
who has successfully held a license for a minimum of three years and has acquired written approval from a parent or legal guardian.
You can only drive at 16 if a licensed driver over the age of 21 is in the passenger seat with you.
Can I renew my instruction permit?
As many times as necessary, no extra written examinations required.
When can I apply for an intermediate license in Missouri?
At the age of sixteen.
How can I obtain my intermediate license?
For at least six months, keep your teaching permit.
Learn to drive for 40 hours with a licensed trainer or a parent; at least 10 of those hours should be at night.
A minimum of one year's worth of prior vision, road sign, and writing examinations must be passed in order to be considered current.
Take and pass the driver's test..
Any traffic or alcohol-related offenses in the last six months are not acceptable.
Which restrictions apply when I drive with my Missouri intermediate license?
A licensed driver of at least 21 years of age must be present when you drive alone between the hours of 1 am and 5 am; and:
For the first six months, no one under the age of 19 is allowed to ride shotgun in a motor vehicle (except for members of your immediate family).
if you have more than three passengers under the age of 19 in your car, you are no longer allowed to drive (except for members of your immediate family).
Who is considered a member of my immediate family?
Adopted or foster children, parents, grandparents, siblings, stepbrothers, and stepsisters who live with you.
How can I upgrade from an intermediate license to a full under-21 driver license?
If you're under the age of 21, you'll need to:
no alcohol-related or traffic-related convictions in the last year
own an intermediate license that is valid;
get a passing score on the road sign and eyesight tests
How long is my full under-21 driver license valid for?
It is valid for up to three years, depending on the condition of the document.
Collapse all
What does the driver examination in Missouri consist of?
a written exam on the fundamentals of safe driving, such as traffic regulations and norms;
a test of eyesight;
a test of road signs;
A road test to see whether you're good at driving..
How is the Missouri knowledge test structured?
There are a total of 25 questions in the knowledge exam.
What is the passing score?
To pass the exam, you must get at least 20 answers right.
What is the MO knowledge test about?
The rules of the road and how to drive in Missouri.
How can I prepare for the Missouri written test?
Take a look at the Missouri Driver's Handbook.
What is the road sign test?
The ability to read and interpret traffic signs is assessed on the Missouri road sign exam.
What is the driving skills test about?
Your ability to drive a car is tested during the driving exam
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my driving test?
Yes. There must be: in the vehicle, as well as:
This vehicle's license plate;
Inspection sticker that is valid;
Seat belts that really work;
Doors that work;
There are two functional sets of brakes.
A vehicle horn that really works.
What will I have to do during my road test?
Get in and get out of your car;
Set the parking brake to neutral;
Look around to check whether the road is clear.
Send the appropriate message;
Ensure that you are driving at the right pace and in a smooth manner.
Parking in the same lane next to each other;
Back;
Go right twice and left twice;
Place your vehicle on a hillside;
Intersections are entered and exited.
Make sure you know and follow traffic rules and regulations.
I moved to Missouri and I hold an out-of-state driver license. Do I have to retake the four-part driver examination to obtain a MO driver license?
As long as it has been over 184 days after your driver's license was issued.

Select your state

list
close