menu

Let’s get ready for your Maine DMV Permit Test

This Maine DMV practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 ME Driver Handbook. To drive in Maine, you must pass the ME DMV exam. In other words, the DMV permit exam is also known as the driving test. The Maine written knowledge exam has 30 multiple-choice questions on traffic laws, road safety, pedestrian and bicycle safety, and more. To pass, you must properly answer at least 24 of 30 multiple-choice questions from the Maine Driver’s Guide 2022. You must be 15 years old to apply for a learner’s permit and take the knowledge exam. Bring an application form, two forms of identification, evidence of domicile, a birth certificate for those under 23, and proof of completion of a driving education course for those under 18 years old. The Maine BMV will process your application and contact you within three weeks. Unlike other states, the written driver’s exam might take a long time to complete. This ME DMV practice test is meant to help you prepare for the official exam.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who is required to have a Maine driver's license?
Anyone who has an automobile and resides in the state.
I recently moved to Maine. Do I need a Maine driver's license?
Yes. To get a Maine driver's license, you must give up your out-of-state license within 30 days after moving to Maine.

Who is not required to hold a Maine driver's license?
Any resident who has a current learner's permit;
In order to drive in California, a person must be at least 16 years old and have a valid out-of-state learner or driver's license;
=Those military personnel that are currently stationed in Maine.
What is the age requirement for a Maine driver's license?
Driver's education students must be at least 16 years of age in order to take the road test. In order to participate, you must be at least 18.

Collapse all
How do I obtain a learner's permit in Maine?
You must comply with the following:
You must be at least 15 years old in order to participate.
A birth certificate or passport and your Social Security number are both acceptable forms of identification.
A driving education course must be completed by anybody under the age of 18 in order to legally operate a vehicle.
Be able to read small print;
Pass the written and/or driving test.
How long is my ME learner's permit valid for?
Two (2) years.
Am I allowed to drive alone with my learner's permit in Maine?
A licensed driver who has had a valid license for at least two years must accompany you for at least 70 hours of driving practice. Parents or legal guardians must sign off on the amount of time you spend behind the wheel.


Collapse all
How do I obtain a driver's license in Maine?
For at least six months, keep your learner's permit;
At least 70 hours of driving are required (including 10 hours at night);
Test your driving skills on the road.

Do I have any restriction when driving with my ME driver's license if I am younger than 18 years old?
Yes, you are prohibited from doing the following for the first 270 days after passing your road test:
Using any portable electronic device while driving is prohibited.
Please refrain from driving between the hours of 12 and 5 in the morning;
Carry people other than close family members on board

What is a Maine provisional license?
To all new applicants, a two-year provisional license is provided, which is valid for drivers under the age of 21, and a one-year provisional license is issued for those above the age of 21.
What topics does the Maine written test cover?
laws in Maine against drinking and driving;
Maine's rules of the road;
Regulations for traffic;
abilities required for safe and efficient driving;
The ability to operate a vehicle
Signs on the road.
Do I have to take a vision screening?
Yes. Both your near- and far-sightedness will be assessed.
What do I have to do during my road test in Maine?
Keep your automobile in your hands;
Forward and backward movement
Make sure you're in the appropriate lane;
Make left and right turns.
Drive straight forward and don't veer off course.
Observe and respond to other drivers and pedestrians on the road
Follow all traffic rules and regulations.
I am moving to Maine and I hold a valid out-of-state driver's license. Do I have to retake all the tests?
Do not expect to be exempt from the written and road exams.
I lost my license, what can I do?
For a copy of your Maine driver's license, you must tell the Maine Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
The name or address changed from that given on my Maine license, what should I do?
Within 30 days after the incident, you must inform the BMV of the incident.

Select your state

list
close