menu

Let’s get ready for your Montana MVD Permit Test

This Montana MVD practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 MT Driver Handbook. To receive your Montana driver’s license, you must pass a written knowledge exam consisting of 33 multiple-choice questions with at least 27 right answers. The written test will include topics including drunk driving, speed restrictions, licensing rules, and pedestrian safety legislation. If you are under 18 years old, you must have parental approval and pay a $5 testing fee to take the exam. Minors must engage in the state’s graduated license program starting at 14.5 years old while enrolled in a traffic education course. After passing the written exam, you must complete 50 hours of supervised driving, including 10 hours at night. This Montana DMV practice test employs the same content and question structure as the actual exam.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of an MVD exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
What is the age requirement to obtain a Montana driver license?
To be eligible for a Montana driver's license, you must be at least 21 years old. In order to apply for a driving instruction permit, you must be at least 14 and a half.
Which documents do I need to provide?
An attestation of one's identity;
Proof of Authorized Presence in the United States;
Prove Your Citizenship
An individual's Social Security number.
Also, for those under the age of eighteen:
A certificate stating that you've completed a state-approved driving education program;
Consent of the parent or guardian.
It is essential that the name and date of birth on your application match those on the supporting documentation you provide.
Do I have to pass any test to obtain my Montana driver license?
Yes. Vision, knowledge, and driving examinations are all required.
Collapse all
How long is my instruction permit valid?
Until the age of twenty-one.
How many types of instruction permit are there in Montana?
TEP (Traffic Education Permit)
TELL (Traffic Education Learner License)
A Learner's Permit
Who can apply for a TEP?
Those students who have taken a state-approved driving safety course are eligible.
Can I drive with my TEP?
During traffic education instruction, you are only allowed to drive if an instructor is in the vehicle with you.
How long is my TEP valid?
There is no expiration date on a TEP.
Who can apply for a TELL?
Individuals who are at least 14 and a half years of age and have completed a state-approved traffic education course are eligible.
Can I drive with my TELL?
Yes. If you have an instructor or a parent or legal guardian in the car with you, you may drive a vehicle.
Who can obtain a Learner License?
Anyone who has successfully completed a state-approved traffic education course and is at least 16 years old (without having finished traffic school).
Do I have to pass a test to obtain my Montana Learner License?
Yes. Vision and knowledge exams are required.
I am under 18 years of age, can I sign my application for a Learner License?
You can't do anything without the permission of a parent or legal guardian.
How long is my Learner License valid?
One (1) year.
Can I drive with my Learner License?
Only if you have an 18-year-old licensed driver in the vehicle with you. When driving under the age of 18, you must have a licensed driver in the vehicle with you who is either your parent or legal guardian, or at least 18 years old and have the approval of a parent or legal guardian.
Do I have to complete a Supervised Driving Practice while holding my TELL or Learner License?
Your license will not be valid unless you have completed 50 hours of supervised driving (of which 10 must be at night) within six months.
Collapse all
I have successfully held my Learner License for at least 6 consecutive months or up to 1 year. What’s next?
You may get a First-Year Restricted License if you're under the age of 18.
Do I have any restriction while driving with my First-Year Restricted License?
Yes.
Seatbelts are required for all passengers.
Late-night driving by newly licensed minors is strictly prohibited.
Only one unrelated passenger may ride in the automobile for the first six months without an accompanying licensed adult driver;
Only three unrelated passengers may ride in the automobile for the next six months without an adult driver's license.
How long is my First-Year Restricted License valid?
If you turn 18 before the expiration date, you have just a year to use the card.
I have successfully held my First-Year Restricted License for one year. What’s next?
In the end, you'll have a Montana Full-Privilege Driver License.
Collapse all
Where can I take my Montana knowledge test?
Examine your driving skills at one of the Montana Motor Vehicle Division's testing facilities.
How can I schedule my written test?

How many questions are on the Montana DMV permit test?
You'll need to know the ins and outs of Montana's traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving techniques to pass this test.
What is the score required to pass the test?
At least 27 out of the 33 questions must be answered correctly.
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
Learn the rules of the road by reading the Montana Driver's Handbook. After the exam, you may retake it
Collapse all
Where can I take my Montana driving test?
In the offices of the Motor Vehicle Division. To make an appointment, click to https://dojmt.gov/driving/appointments/ or call 1-866-450-8034 to speak with a representative.
Do I have to provide my own vehicle for the road test?
Yes.
What will I be required to do during my driving test?
Assist and overtake other cars on the highway
Respect the right-of-way of others.
Switch lanes.
Parking on the side of the road
Turns at junctions must be made.
Observe and respond to signals.
I am under 18 years of age. Can I drive alone to the DMV office to take my driving test?
No, you must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
I failed my road test. What can I do?
The maximum number of tries is three. A restart of the licensing procedure is necessary after that.
Collapse all
I recently moved to Montana and I own a valid out-of-state driver license. Do I need a Montana driver license?
Yes. Within 60 days of your existing license expiration, you must apply for a new one. Knowledge and driving tests may not be required.
My Montana driver license has expired. What can I do?
You may renew your driver's license without retaking the exam within three months. In order to keep your license, you must reapply every three months and pass all licensing examinations again.
I changed name / address. Do I have to notify the Driver License Bureau?
You're absolutely correct. At https://dojmt.gov/driving/forms, you may find the required paperwork.

Select your state

list
close