menu

Let’s get ready for your Louisiana OMV Permit Test

This Louisiana OMV practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 LA Driver Handbook. A written knowledge exam of 40 questions covering Louisiana traffic laws, road signs, and driver licensing restrictions is required before you may start driving in Louisiana. To pass the exam, you must answer correctly 32 out of 40 questions, or an 80 percent passing ratio. Teenagers aged 15 to 17 must complete a driver education course with eight hours of classroom teaching, while adults aged 18 and above may complete a six-hour pre-licensing course with eight hours of classroom instruction. You’ll need a certificate from a driving school, identification, your social security number, evidence of current school attendance if you’re under 18, and the $32.25 permit or license price. You must also pass a regular eye test. Use this OMV practice exam to prepare for the Louisiana written knowledge test and pass on your first attempt.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of an OMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who needs a driver's license in Louisiana?
All drivers in the state of Louisiana are required to have a driver's license.
Who is exempt from owning a Louisiana driver's license?
Drivers from out-of-state or outside the nation who are in the state for less than 90 days must have a valid out-of-state or out-of-country license.
Any student who has both a valid out-of-state driver's license and a valid student ID card may enter the university..
Those who use agricultural equipment on public roads for an extended amount of time should wear a helmet.
An out-of-state driving license for every member of the Armed Forces.
I recently moved to Louisiana, do I need a Louisiana driver's License?
Yes. In Louisiana, you have 30 days to get a license.
Which documents do I have to provide when applying for a LA driver's license?
Identification and birth date;
SSN
If you are under the age of 17, you must have the signature of your legal guardian or custodial parent.
What is the age requirement to apply for a driver's license in Louisiana?
In order to be eligible for a Louisiana driver's license, you must be 17 years old or older. If you are 15 years old or older, you are eligible to enroll in the graduated licensing program and get a learner's permit.
Which tests are given in Louisiana when you apply for a driver's license?
Make sure you're seeing things clearly
Sign and signal testing;
Knowledge assessment;
A road test of one's driving skills.
When does a Louisiana driver's license expire?
Your next birthday is four years away, at which point it will expire. 180 days before the expiration date, it may be renewed.
I changed my address and the old address is written on my license. What do I have to do?
Within ten days of the change, you must make an appointment with your local motor vehicle office to get your license updated.

Collapse all
What are the requirements to obtain a learner's permit in Louisiana?
There is a 15-year-old minimum age requirement for participation.
30 classroom hours of instruction;
Complete eight hours of driving practice;
Pass the vision, writing, and traffic sign examinations.
How can I practice driving with my LA learner's permit?
It is permissible to drive with a licensed adult over the age of 21 or an older sibling over the age of 18.
How can I upgrade from my LA learner's permit to an intermediate license?
There is a 16-year-old minimum age requirement.
This requires a minimum of 180 days of possession of your permit.
Signing a statement certifying that you have at least 35 hours of driving experience is required by your parent or legal guardian.
If you want to learn to drive, you must take and pass a road skills exam.
Any restrictions when driving with my LA intermediate license?
Yes. Between the hours of 5 am and 11 pm, you may only drive if you are accompanied by an adult driver who is at least 21 years old or an older sibling who is at least 18 years old.
How can I obtain my Louisiana full license?
To receive a full driver's license, you must wait until you are 17 years old and have held your intermediate license.
What if I am 17 but I did not enter the graduated licensing program?
Driver's education or a six-hour pre-license course must be completed by anybody who is 17 years old before they may apply for their full license.
Collapse all
What is vision screening?
The vision test assesses whether or not your eyesight is enough for safe driving. You must get a score of at least 20 out of 40. You must wear corrective glasses while driving if you want to pass the vision test.
What is on the Louisiana knowledge test?
There are 40 questions in all, and the goal is to see how well you know the law and safe driving habits.
What is the minimum score required to pass the LA knowledge test?
At the very least, you'll need a 32/40.
What is the traffic sign test about?
Standard traffic light symbols and road signage must be recognized and understood.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my road skills test in Louisiana?
Yes, the vehicle you provide must:
Keep your vehicle in a safe condition;
Make it through a safety check;
Inspection stickers, license plates, and registrations must all be up-to-date.
Proof of liability insurance for the vehicle being tested is also required.
What driving skills are required to pass the Louisiana road skills test?
Backing;
Remaining within the lane
Turning;
Keeping up with the traffic;
Giving up the right of passage;
The ability of squeezing between two vehicles
Keep your eyes and mind on the road;
Signs and indications as a response
As you near the bend,
Signaling techniques
What will make me fail my road test?
Any violation of traffic regulations;
Involvement in a collision;
Cooperation is lacking;
refusing to perform;
Repeating small errors.
I failed my road skills test. What's next?
Those who have not yet received their license will be given one to practice. It is the examiner's job to point out your mistakes. In the future, you may retake the exam.

Select your state

list
close