menu

Let’s get ready for your Oregon DMV Permit Test

This updated Oregon DMV practice exam for 2022 includes 40 questions from the official 2022 OR Driver Handbook. To acquire your Oregon learner’s permit, you must be 15 years old, pay the costs, and answer 28 out of 35 questions correctly. The knowledge exam is given on a touch-screen display in many languages. You may bring your own headphones if you need them. If you fail the test, you must wait a few days to retake it. If you fail the exam four times, you must wait 28 days. If you cheat on the test, you will immediately fail and have to wait 90 days to retake. Each time you take it costs $5. Our DMV practice exam covers the same material as the real knowledge test.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of a DMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
What is the age requirement in Oregon to apply for a license?
At least 15 years of age is required for an instruction permit. To be eligible for a driver's license, you must be at least sixteen years old.
Which documents do I have to provide to obtain an OR driver's license?
Identification and date of birth proof;
The evidence of legality;
current address of abode
Identification Number, such as a Social Security Card
High school diploma or General Education Development (GED) Certificate of Attendance (for applicants under 18).
Which tests are administered in Oregon to obtain a driver's license?
Vision, driving knowledge, and driving exams will be required (and a Safe Driving Practices Test if you are younger than 16).
Can I sign my license or permit application if I am under 18?
No, you must have a parent or legal guardian sign your application for admission.
I am under 18. How can I upgrade from my instruction permit to a driver license?
For at least six months, keep your teaching permit.
Complete a total of 100 hours of supervised driving.
Be able to drive a car.
Or
For at least six months, keep your teaching permit.
Complete a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving practice;
Make sure you complete an ODOT-approved traffic safety course.
Who must supervise me during my driving practice?
Anyone who is at least 21 years old and has maintained a valid driver's license for at least three years is considered an experienced driver. This person must sit in the passenger seat next to you.
Collapse all
Am I allowed to wear glasses or contact lenses during the vision test?
Yes. Your driver's license will specify whether you need corrective glasses in order to pass the exam.
How is the knowledge test structured?
Thirty-five questions from the Oregon Driver Manual's road signs, legislation, and other material are included in the exam.
What is the passing score for the Oregon knowledge test?
To pass the exam, you must properly answer at least 28 of the questions.
How can I prepare for the Oregon written test?
Consult the Oregon Driver's Handbook;
What is the Safe Driving Practices Test?
To demonstrate your understanding of safe driving techniques, you must pass this supplementary exam. Only those under the age of sixteen are required to take the test.
Do I have to make an appointment for my knowledge test in Oregon?
Arrive at least an hour before the closing time for the knowledge exam; no appointments are necessary.
I failed my knowledge test. When can I retake it?
You'll have to hold off until the next day at the very least. You must wait at least 28 days after four unsuccessful tries.
What is evaluated during the drive test?
Turning;
a reversal of direction;
Parking;
Changes in lanes;
The ability to manage the vehicle's speed
Signaling;
The ability to operate a vehicle;
Driving skill in general.
Do I have to take the OR drive test after completion of a Driver Education Course?
No, if you have finished an ODOT-approved Driver Education course within the last two years, you do not have to take the exam. An official certificate of completion is required.
Do I have to provide a vehicle for my drive test?
Yes. The examiner will check to see whether the following components are in good functioning order in the vehicle:
the use of turn signals is mandatory;
Indicator lights;
horn;
door for the driver's side
a seat in the front
seatbelts;
tires;
muffler;
Rearview or side mirrors
Is an appointment required for the drive test?
Yes.
I failed my drive test. What's next?
Wait 28 days before taking the exam again if you're under the age of 18.
You must wait seven days before retaking the exam if you are 18 years old or older. Wait 14 days after the second try before attempting again. You have 28 days to wait after your third failed attempt.

Select your state

list
close