Who is required to hold a driver's license in South Dakota?
Everyone who uses a motor vehicle or motor-driven bike on public roads must obtain a driving license.
Who can drive in South Dakota without a South Dakota driver's license?
Any student or member of the military who is at least 16 years old and has a valid out-of-state driver's license is eligible.
Who is not eligible for a SD driver's license?
You cannot get a South Dakota driver's license if you
presently having driving privileges suspended or revoked in South Dakota or elsewhere;
are in the United States without permission;
mental incompetence, alcoholism, or regular use of illicit narcotics have been determined by the courts to be your fault.
pay penalty owed to the state for outstanding traffic offenses
foreign nationals who have no legal presence in the United States
What is the age requirement to obtain a SD driver license?
Anyone under the age of 18 is not allowed.
Which driver licenses are available in South Dakota?
Permission to instruct;
Permit for Restricted Minors;
License to operate a motor vehicle.
Which documents are required to apply for a SD driver's license?
Documentation showing your current and previous addresses in the United States, as well as your right to be in the country legally;
a copy of one's Social Security card;
a South Dakota driver's license with a utility bill
Do I need parental/guardian consent if I am younger than 18?
Yes, you need the permission for each application that is completed.
How can I obtain a South Dakota instruction permit?
Must be 14 years old or older.
Vision and knowledge examinations must be passed.
How long is my SD instruction permit valid for?
One (1) year.
Which restrictions apply when I practice driving with my instruction permit?
You may drive a car with your instruction permit.
early morning and late evening only if the driver is at least 18 years old and has a valid driver's license
A driver with at least one year of experience sits next to you in the vehicle.
Only if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m.
How can I upgrade from my instruction permit to my restricted minor's permit or operator's license?
If you are between 14 and 18 years of age, you must hold your permit Those between the ages of 14 and 18 must keep their driving permits for a total of 180 days. Those who have passed a Department of Education-approved driving education course are required to keep their permit for 90 days.
Pass the road test.
For the last six months, you must not have been convicted of a traffic offense.
How long is my South Dakota restricted minor's permit valid for?
A period of five years.
Can I drive unsupervised with my SD restricted minor's permit?
Between the hours of 6 a.m. and 10 p.m., provided you have permission from your parent or legal guardian, you may drive unattended.
Only a parent or legal guardian may drive you between the hours of 10:00 night and 6:00 am.
How can I obtain a South Dakota operator's license?
If you're between the ages of 16 and 18,
To be eligible for an instruction permit, you must meet all of the conditions.
A traffic infraction conviction within the last six months is a requirement.
How long is a South Dakota operator's license valid for?
A period of five years.
How can I renew my license?
Pass a vision exam at a DPS office or online at www.dps.sd.gov.
What is the South Dakota knowledge test about?
Safe driving habits and the rules of the road
How can I pass the SD knowledge permit test?
At least 20 out of the 25 questions must be answered correctly.
When can I retake my knowledge or driving test in South Dakota if I fail?
At the very least, you must wait until the following business day.