menu

Let’s get ready for your Massachusetts RMV Permit Test

This Massachusetts RMV practice exam has been updated for 2022 and includes 40 questions from the official 2022 MA Driver Handbook. The official MA permit practice exam has a passing score of 72%. A total of 18 questions must be answered correctly on the official Massachusetts RMV Test. Each RMV automated test station has a 25-minute time limit (ATS). The RMV written exam questions are shown graphically on these kiosks. Your learner’s permit test price is $30. Before taking your road test, you must have a valid learner’s permit and a clean driving record for six months. To get a Junior Operator’s License in Massachusetts, you must be between the ages of 16 and 18. A Junior Operator’s License costs $50.

Car Practice Tests

Easy

240 questions

Complete: 0/240

The best place to start. This DMV permit test has road rules related questions, each with detailed explanations to help you truly learn the concepts, rather than just memorizing them. Each test is designed to be exactly like the real one. Feel free to take them as many times as you’d like, then move on to the marathon test.

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 6

Questions: 201-240

Correct: 0/40 Start
Easy Marathon

Your last step before moving to the Road Signs section. Practice all the road rules questions at once.

Start
Hard

200 questions

Complete: 0/200

Once you’ve gotten the basic road rules down – it’s time to practice a more difficult topic. These road signs practice tests will go over road signs and other tricky topics. Take the practice permit tests as many times as it takes to get a perfect score!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 3

Questions: 81-120

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 4

Questions: 121-160

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 5

Questions: 161-200

Correct: 0/40 Start
Hard Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the road signs questions at once.

Start
Expert

80 questions

Complete: 0/80

Finally starting to get the hang of it? Then it’s time to take the hardest permit tests. These are the most difficult topics that will go over the limits and fines as outlined in the AL Driver Handbook. || Don’t get caught by surprise on the day of your exam! Make sure you practice the most difficult questions!

Practice test 1

Questions: 1-40

Correct: 0/40 Start
Practice test 2

Questions: 41-80

Correct: 0/40 Start
Expert Marathon

Your last step before moving to the fines and limits section. Practice all the limits and fines questions at once.

Start
Exam Simulator

Random 40 Questions

The Grand Finale. The exam simulator mimics the experience of an RMV exam, pulling random questions from a huge database. It has the same number of questions and the same passing score as your actual exam.

Start

Collapse all
Who is required to have a Massachusetts driver’s license?
Every person in the state who drives a car.
Who can apply for a Massachusetts driver’s license?
Every person over the age of 16 who has never had their driver's license revoked.
What is the age requirement to obtain a Massachusetts driver’s license?
If you are at least 16 years old, you may apply for a learner's permit. Once you've kept your learner's permit for at least six months and finished a driving education course, you may apply for a Class D or Class M driver's license.
Do I have to provide a photo in order to apply for a driver’s license or learner’s permit?
Yes. The RMV will take a picture of you. You may not conceal your face in any way, including with a hat, scarf, or other head covering.
Is a vision test required?
Yes. At least 20/40 in your better eye, with or without proper glasses, and at least 120 degrees of horizontal peripheral vision are required to pass the eye examinations.
Do I have to take a physical test?
A doctor's note is acceptable in the event that you have a medical condition that might impair your driving ability.
Which documents are required in order to apply for a Massachusetts driver’s license/learner’s permit?
An official document that proves your date of birth, such as a birth certificate;
Residency verification;
a document that already exists and has your signature;
SSN.
If you are looking for a comprehensive list of acceptable forms of identification, you may find it in the Massachusetts Driver's Manual at https://www.massrmv.com.
Collapse all
Do I have to pass any test to obtain my learner’s permit?
A eye test and a written test for your learner's permit are both required.
I am under age 18. Do I need my parent consent to apply for a Massachusetts learner’s permit?
Yes. The reverse of your permission must be signed by a parent, legal guardian, social worker, or boarding school headmaster.
How long is my Massachusetts learner’s permit valid?
Two (2) years.
Can I drive with my learner’s permit?
Yes. Any passenger under the age of 21 years old who does not have a valid driver's license and does not sit in the passenger seat with them is not permitted to drive.
Do I have any other restrictions while operating with my learner’s permit?
You cannot drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. without accompanied by a licensed parent or legal guardian.
Collapse all
I have held my learner’s permit for 6 consecutive months without suspensions. Can I apply for a Massachusetts driver’s license?
A Junior Operator's License is something you can obtain (JOL).
What do I have to do to apply for a JOL?
Do not have any points on your driving record for at least six months;
An authorized driver's education and training program must be completed: 30-hour classroom education, 12-hour practical driving instruction, and 6-hour on-the-road instruction;
Complete a further 40 hours of supervised driving instruction (if necessary).
A two-hour course in driver's education is required of your parent or guardian.
Make it through the last leg of the driving exam.
Do I have any restrictions while driving with my JOL?
Yes.
For the first six months, you are not allowed to transport anybody under the age of 18, unless a 21-year-old licensed driver is in the vehicle with you. A 6-month time limit applies, however you may get around it by turning 18 before the end of that time period.
Between the hours of 12:30 a.m. and 1 a.m., as well as 4 a.m. and 5 a.m., it is illegal to drive.
Unless you have a CDL (Commercial Driver's License), you cannot drive a motor vehicle.
While driving, you are not permitted to use any mobile devices.
What happens if I commit driving offenses while operating with a JOL?
A one-year suspension will be imposed if you are under the age of 18.
You will be suspended for 180 days if you are between the ages of 18 and 21.
Specific infractions may warrant further suspension time.
Collapse all
How many questions are on the Massachusetts RMV permit test?
Multiple-choice questions with 25 options each.
What is the score required to pass the test?
For a total of 25 minutes, you must answer all 18 questions correctly.
How do I know when I am ready to take the permit test?
You should be able to answer questions on the rules of the road, traffic regulations, and road signs in Massachusetts.
Can I take my Massachusetts RMV permit test in Spanish?
Yes.
I failed my knowledge test. What do I have to do?
Prepare for the exam as many times as necessary and take it as soon as you believe you are ready.
Collapse all
What do I have to do to prepare for the road test?
A parent or guardian must sign off on a road test application that has been completed.
Be in possession of a valid learner's permit
Bring a reputable sponsor with you;
Provide a legally registered and equipped car.
What common mistakes should I avoid?
Don't be late. Don't be late for your appointment.
Check the rental agreement to see whether it allows you to take your driver's license road test in the car.
Ensure the safety and functionality of your automobile. The examiner will check it out;
If you're under the age of 21, you'll need a sponsor who has at least one year of driving experience and has a valid license.
What will I be required to do during my road test?
Hand gestures are the best way to communicate.
Start the vehicle's motor.
Initiate and terminate the motor vehicle
Across the Street
Back up the car by about 50 feet.
Turn left or right.
On an incline, start, stop, and turn the car.
Between the curbs, turn around (three point turn)
Intersections may be entered and exited.
Traffic signs, signals, and other laws of the road must be obeyed.
Use common sense while you're behind the wheel.
Use a good driving position
Keep your vehicle in the correct lane at all times.
Your vehicle should be at least one car length ahead of you at all times.
Maintain a safe speed at all times.
Give way to the traffic in front of you.
I failed my road test. When can I take it again?
During the course of a year, you are permitted six tries.
Collapse all
I have a valid out-of-state driver’s license. Am I allowed to drive in Massachusetts?
Yes.
I have a valid out-of-country driver’s license. Can I drive in Massachusetts?
Yes, you have up to a year after arriving in the United States to apply.
I have a valid out-of-state / out-of country driver’s license and I moved to Massachusetts. Do I need a Massachusetts driver’s license?
Yes. You may be able to convert your international or out-of-state license.

Select your state

list
close